Other Stories

Full Video

182 cases of Omicron detected in 17 EU, EEA countries: ECDC Updated: 2021-12-06 17:08:23 KST

As concerns rise over the rapid spread of the Omicron variant of COVID-19, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control says 182 cases have been identified across the EU plus Norway and Iceland.
As of Sunday, it added the new variant has been reported in 17 of the countries it serves.
The ECDC explained the majority of the cases are in people that have a history of traveling to Africa, but noted there's evidence in several European countries, such as Germany and Spain, which shows undetected community transmission could be ongoing there.
It says all cases for which there is available information on severity were either asymptomatic or mild, adding no deaths have been reported so far.
Israel says it's mulling the possibility of authorizing a fourth COVID-19 booster shot to those with weak immune systems.
In July, those undergoing cancer treatment in Israel were the first to receive a third shot.
Saying the health authorities are due to discuss a fourth dose this week, local media outlets say officials are concerned about the spread of the Omicron variant.
Brazil is also accelerating its rollout of booster shots in an attempt to contain the spread of the new strain.
The Sao Paulo state government says it will shorten the interval for a third dose to four months from the previous five.
Six cases of Omicron have been reported in Brazil, with all of them having recently returned from Africa.
Kim Hyo-sun, Arirang News.
KOGL : Korea Open Government License
본 저작물 중 본문에 해당하는 뉴스 스크립트(텍스트)는 공공누리 제1유형-출처표시 조건에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.